Goodbye Kansas Studios was delighted to produce the cinematic introduction for HELLDIVERS 2 with Arrowhead Studios. HELLDIVERS 2 was released for PlayStation 5 and Windows on 8 February 2024 and published by Sony Interactive Entertainment. HELLDIVERS 2 is a squad-based shooter in which the elite Helldivers forces battle to win an intergalactic struggle to rid the galaxy of rising alien threats.

Our primary objective for HELLDIVERS 2 was to meticulously design an introductory cinematic experience that seamlessly weaved humour throughout its narrative without tipping into excessive exaggeration. Drawing inspiration from the iconic style of American military recruitment commercials, we sought to create an impactful experience by infusing our narrative with the same motivational vigour but with humour interjected throughout, spoken by a charismatic spokesperson who directly engages with the audience.

View our cinematic breakdown above to examine the process and work our team contributed to this fantastic project.



Goodbye Kansas Studios

Director: Fredrik Löfberg
VFX Supervisor: Kristian Zarins
CG Supervisor: Martin Aufinger
Art Director: Gustaf Holmsten
Animation Director: Jonathon Tyler
Executive Producer: Anton Söderhäll
Senior Producer: Calum Hart
Production Coordinator: Anna Thenberg, Thomas Oger, Emma Lindqvist

Lead Character artist: Jonas Skoog, Axel Flovin
Character Modeling: Axel Flovin, Brett Sinclair, Claudio Tuminati, Madina Chionidi, Fabian Zackrisson

Lead Facial Modeler: Jonas Törnqvist
Facial Modelers: Anneli Larsson, Hedda Peterson

Character Look Development: Axel Flovin, Brett Sinclair, Claudio Tuminati, Madina Chionidi, Fabian Zackrisson
Lead Environment Artist: Jesper Bardhamre
Assets Modelers: Tony Alamo, Wojtek Piwowarczyk

Lead Environment Look Development: Jesper Bardhamre
Look Development Artists: Tony Alamo, Wojtek Piwowarczyk

Lead Asset Artist: Fabian Zackrisson
Asset Artist: Lasse Hansen
Lead Asset Look Development : Fabian Zackrisson

Groom Artists: Axel Flovin, Jonas Skoog
Lead Rigging: Peter Jemstedt
Rigging Artists: Ben Lillieström, Stephanie Holder
Lead Character FX : Viktor Lanner
Character FX Artists: Charlie Filmberg

Lead Facial Rigging: Nils Lerin
Facial Rigger: Mattias Nygren

Layout: Souvik Mitra, Marijane Klaassen
Scene Assembly: Souvik Mitra, Marijane Klaassen

Realtime Lead: Tim Hermes
Realtime Artists: Mica Olsson, Henrik Melsom, Victor Saftoiu

Key Animation Lead: Jonathan Skifs
Animators: Mikael Ohlson
Facial Animation Supervisor: Goran Milic
Facial Animators: Antonija Milic, Dylan O'Rourke
Lead Body Animation: Benjamin Brenneur
Body Animators: Guillerme Martins, Thomas Obrecht, Emiliano Nanfaro, Emmet Mörk, Marko Marinkovic

FX Lead: Martin Aufinger
FX artists: Filip Orrby, Pawel Jasinski, Robert Reinschedl

Lead DMP and Concept Artist: Gustaf Holmsten
DMP Artists: Mikael Widegren, Kevin Decatoire
Concept Artists: Gabriel Björk Stiernström, Phillip Scherer, Ellie Cooper
Storyboard Artist: Thierry Rivière

Lead Lighting Artist: Sean Kalamgi
Lighting and Rendering: Ivor Da Silva, Guillaume Ritt, Anna Hilding

Lead Compositing: Calle Granström
Compositing Artists: Fredrik Larsson, Lukasz Przybytek, Guillaume Ritt, Hanna Myllyoja

Conform: Caio Simbula, Conor Byrne, Mathias Löfquist

Head of Pipeline: Erik Johansson

Pipeline: Dane Bettis, Albert Cervin, Stephen Hada, Sakarias Johansson, Linus Fredriksson, Karin Reidarman, Nils Lerin, Joakim Johansson, Dan Englesson
System Administrators: Thomas Eriksson, Tiffany Johansson, Gabi Gharib, Armin Cero, Emil Ferdinandsson, Hampus Robertsson, Johan Agurén, Kaja Michalak

Grading: Martin Steinberg

Goodbye Kansas Studios Capture Department
Head of Capture: Chris Jestico
Head of Motion Capture / Motion Capture Supervisor: Samuel Tyskling
Motion Capture Lead: David Grice
Shoot Coordinator / First Assistant Director: Franziska Ewigleben, Axel Gärkman
Motion Capture Data Artist: Nils Aulin, Jan Germala, Oskar Olsson, Andrew Hutchinson
Motion Capture Operator: Oskar Olsson, Ed Reeler
Database Operator: Ed Reeler, Oskar Olsson
Props & Staging: David Sagesen
Facial Capture Operator: Eva Lindgren
Audio Engineer: Oskar Gyllenhammar
Stunt Coordinator: Johan Lindqvist
Head of Scanning / FACS Director: David Connely
Scanning Technical Lead: Roger Sundberg
Scan Assistant: Eva Lindgren
Make-Up Artist: Ingela Larsson
Production Assistance (GBK Frontdesk team): Harrison Ryder, Felicia Brolin, Kara Ingram, Emma Appelgren

Motion Capture Performers:
Lead Performer: Craig Thomas
Additional Performers: Johan Lindqvist, Nicklas Hansson, Nilla Hansson, Lukas Larsson

Client: Arrowhead Studios
Creative Director: Mattias Snygg
Production: Evan Nickel, Alex Bolle
Music: Loic Couthier, Nick Raynor
VO: Craig Thomas

We don’t make dreams come true.

We make them real. And if you like what you’ve seen us do for others, imagine what we could do for you. Because what we’ve done is only the starting point. We are constantly reinventing our expertise and using it in previously unknown ways, blurring the edges between what’s real and what’s possible. All you have to do is watch, because we’re not just aiming for the rainbow – we want to go beyond. Contact us